Fall 2017 Financial Information
For current tuition rates, please refer to the Student Business Services Web site at http://controller.vpfa.fsu.edu/Student-Business/Tuition-Fees.
Fall 2017—Materials and Supplies Fees
As materials and supplies fees may differ based on course location, please refer to the applicable table for campus-specific fees.
Main campus materials and supplies fees were not available at publication; however, they will be published here as soon as they are obtained. Please return for updates.
Panama City Campus
Panama City campus materials and supplies fees were not available at publication; however, they will be published here as soon as they are obtained. Please return for updates.
Facilities and Equipment Fees
Facilities and equipment fees were not available at publication; however, they will be published here as soon as they are obtained. Please return for updates.
Cooperative Education Fees
Students enrolled in a cooperative education course with zero semester hours will be charged for one semester hour of Florida Resident undergraduate work, unless also enrolled in other credit courses at Florida State University during the same academic term.
Graduate Examination Fees
Students registering for zero semester hours for master’s comprehensive examination, master’s thesis defense, or dissertation defense, will be charged for one Florida Resident graduate semester hour, unless also enrolled in other credit courses at Florida State University during the same academic term.
Graduate Zero Semester-Hour Course Fees
Students registered for zero semester hour graduate level courses and additional courses will not be charged for the zero credit hour course. When registering for a zero credit hour course only, the student will be charged for one semester hour at the Florida Resident tuition-rate of the course level.
Repeat Course Surcharge
Section 1009.285, Florida Statutes, mandates that each student attempting the same non-repeatable undergraduate course more than twice shall be assessed an additional per credit hour surcharge beginning with the third attempt. Attempted hours include those hours dropped or withdrawn which are fee liable. Undergraduate level courses are numbered 1000 to 4000.
Effective Fall 2016 semester, the repeat course surcharge is $177.94 per credit hour.
Note: The rate is subject to change for the 2017-2018 academic year.
For a list of exceptions to this policy, please consult the “Financial Information” chapter of the General Bulletin.
Excess Credit Hour Surcharge
Section 1009.286, Florida Statutes, mandates that each student shall be assessed an additional per credit hour charge for each hour in excess of the total number of credit hours required to complete the baccalaureate degree. This law is in effect for students who began college at any institution during the Fall 2009 semester or later.
For more information, visit http://registrar.fsu.edu/excess_hours/.
Students who enroll must pay fees and tuition in full by the tuition and fees payment deadline. Students who fail to pay tuition in full by the fee payment deadline will be assessed a late payment fee of $100.00 and may have their schedule cancelled. All waivers, vouchers, Intern Participation Certificates, agency billings, and department billings for all students, including those receiving financial aid, must be submitted no later than the third day of the semester or session. You may pay by check, cash, money order or FSUCard. Payments may be submitted by mail, drop box, or in person. Florida State University also takes credit cards and e-checks (online only) at http://fees.fsu.edu. Cards accepted online include American Express, Discover, MasterCard, and Visa. There is a 2% non-refundable scaling fee to cover the cost of providing this online payment service. Classes added after the drop/add deadline must be paid for within five calendar days. Foreign and two-party checks are not accepted. Make checks payable to Florida State University. Include your local phone and local address on each check and one of the following: your EMPLID, the last four digits of your social security number, or your FSU e-mail address.
The basic Florida Prepaid College Program does not pay the full amount of tuition owed to the University, nor do Intern Participation Certificates. Students must pay the remaining balance due by the posted tuition payment deadline.
You may obtain financial status information on the Web at http://my.fsu.edu (from Student Account Quicklinks, click Account Statement), at the self-inquiry kiosks located in University Center Building A, and other locations.
Paying Your Tuition and Other Fees
Pay in person by visiting Student Business Services, A1500 University Center between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday–Friday. You may also pay online at http://fees.fsu.edu or http://my.fsu.edu (from myFSU Student Portal, click Make A Payment). See http://controller.vpfa.fsu.edu/student-business/payments for additional payment locations.
Student parking permits are issued online at http://transportation.fsu.edu.
Students who fail to register for classes before the first day of class will be assessed a $100.00 late registration fee. Students may be assessed a $100.00 fee for late payment for tuition that is not paid by the payment deadline.
Internet Payments Seven Days a Week
Florida State University accepts credit cards online only. Make your online payment at http://fees.fsu.edu; the following payment types may be used online:
- American Express
There is a 2% non-refundable scaling fee for credit card transactions. Online transactions using an e-check will not be assessed a service fee. Returned payments will be assessed the same fees as paper checks.
Mail–in Fee Payments
When paying fees by mail, send a personal check, money order, or cashier’s check for the full amount of the fees that are due. Please do not send cash. Payments must be made payable to the order of Florida State University and must include your name, local address and local telephone number, and one of the following: your EMPLID or your FSU e-mail address. Mailed payments for tuition must be received no later than the tuition payment deadline to avoid the late payment fee. Incomplete checks will be considered as late payment. Payments should be mailed to Florida State University, Office of Student Business Services, A1500 University Center, Tallahassee, FL 32306-2394.
Fee Payment Drop Box
Use the convenient fee payment drop box located on the outside wall of A1501 University Center across from the Heritage Fountain and Dick Howser Baseball Stadium. Be sure to use an envelope and include one of the following on your check: your EMPLID or your (personal or FSU) e-mail address. Tuition payments must be inserted by 4:30 p.m. of the tuition payment deadline to avoid the late-payment fee. Incomplete checks will be considered as late payments.
Late Registration & Fee Payment Waivers
Requests for waiver of the $100.00 Late Registration and/or Late Payment Fee may be submitted in person to the Office of Student Business Services, A1500 University Center, Tallahassee, FL 32306-2394. Waiver forms are available online at http://controller.vpfa.fsu.edu/Student-Business-Services/Student-Business-for-Students/Forms.
Waivers may be granted in situations involving administrative error or unusual circumstances beyond the control of the student. Students will be required to present written documentation of the circumstances involved.
Note: Lack of awareness of the deadlines or lack of funds are not valid reasons to waive the late payment fee or late registration fee.
Refund of Fees
Students who drop a course without fee liability after their tuition and fees are paid, due to documented extenuating circumstance or administrative error, may be eligible for a tuition refund. Any amount paid in excess of the amount owed to the University during the semester/term will be carried forward and may be applied against subsequent University charges or may be refunded upon request. Any outstanding charges owed to the University will be deducted, and the balance will be issued as a refund. Refunds requested during the fiscal year close-out, during the last two weeks of June, will not be processed until the first week of July. The refund will be processed as a credit to the student’s bank account for currently enrolled students. However, payments made by credit card will always be refunded to the credit card.
Students who withdraw after the fourth day of the semester/term, but prior to the end of the fourth week of the semester (or for Summer sessions, by the first twenty-five percent of the term) are eligible for a twenty-five percent refund of tuition and fees. After this period, students who withdraw are held fully liable for fees. Students who withdraw and have received federal financial aid (Title IV programs) or state aid may be required to repay to the aid source the amount of unearned financial-aid funds disbursed to them as of their withdrawal date as described in the section below on “Withdrawals and Return of Financial Aid.” In the case where a withdrawal petition is approved, a refund can be provided only if the refund withdrawal request is submitted within six months after the end of the semester in which the withdrawal occurred.
Note: The following fees are non-refundable: Web payment credit-card processing fees, admission deposit, admission application fee, FSUCard, and other fees as specified by certain schools or departments.
Fees and Financial Aid Students
The University distributes aid in two ways for all registered financial aid students whose funds are available to the Office of Student Business Services on the distribution dates as published. For the most current information, go to http://controller.vpfa.fsu.edu/student-business. Students must complete the Student Permissions. Students may complete the Permissions through the Student Center at https://my.fsu.edu. Choose one of the following two ways to receive financial aid:
- By Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) to your FSUCard Account at Sun Trust. Approximately ninety percent of the student body receiving financial aid at Florida State University have chosen to process their aid electronically and take advantage of the fastest and most reliable method of receiving their financial aid; or
- By Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) to any bank account. Students must provide the bank’s routing number and account number if this method is chosen.
Students must check their status at https://my.fsu.edu. In order to receive your aid, you must comply with Financial Aid terms and conditions located at http://financialaid.fsu.edu/Resources/Terms-and-Conditions. Students must confirm that their financial aid file is complete prior to disbursement by going to https://my.fsu.edu.
If you have any questions, please call (850) 644-9452 at the Office of Student Business Services. For information about your FSUCard account at SunTrust, call 1 (800) 786-8787. For financial aid questions, please contact (850) 644-0539.
Deadline: If the financial aid is not sufficient to cover all charges, the student is responsible for paying the balance by the tuition payment deadline, (see the “Academic Calendar” in this Registration Guide). After this date, a $100.00 late payment fee is assessed and grades will be held at the end of the semester until fees are paid in full.
Note: Financial Aid students who are having their tuition paid by an agency, department billing, or Florida Prepaid College Program should submit the required documents no later than the third day of the semester (see the “Academic Calendar” in this Registration Guide). The basic Florida Prepaid College Program does not pay the full amount of tuition owed to the University, nor do Intern Participation Certificates. Students must pay the remaining balance due by the posted payment due date.
Deferments: Financial aid deferments may be granted to students whose aid is not available by the published tuition deadline. Not having applied for financial aid is not a valid reason for applying for a deferment. The deadline to request a deferment is the tuition payment deadline. When deferments expire, students must pay their unpaid tuition balance in full or receive a late fee after the deadline. If tuition is not paid, students will not be able to register for future classes, receive a delayed delivery loan, grades, or transcripts. Students must confirm that their financial aid has arrived and that all requirements have been met by the deferment expiration date. Go to http://my.fsu.edu (from Student Account Quicklinks, click Account Statement) you then will see your courses and fees detailed. With your temporary deferment, your total balance due may show “$zero” for the “Current Term Tuition.” When your financial aid arrives, the screen will show how much has been paid toward your tuition. You must ensure your financial aid pays your tuition by the deferment deadline, or you may be assessed a late payment fee of $100.00. You may check your financial aid status at http://www.financialaid.fsu.edu. For questions, please contact the Office of Financial Aid at firstname.lastname@example.org or (850) 644-0539.
Withdrawals and Return of Financial Aid
Per federal regulation (34 CFR 668.22), students who withdraw and have received financial aid will be required to repay to the program sources the amount of unearned financial aid funds disbursed to them as of their withdrawal date. The unearned amount of program funds are calculated based on the last date of academic activity which indicates the percentage of the semester completed.
Both the University and students receiving financial aid are required to return unearned financial aid to the aid source. Title IV aid programs are repaid in the following order: Unsubsidized Federal Stafford/Direct Loans, Subsidized Federal Stafford/Direct Loans, Federal Perkins Loans, Federal PLUS/Direct PLUS Loans, Federal Pell Grants, FSEOG Program Aid, and Teach Grants.
The University is required to return the unearned portion of the financial aid funds it received from withdrawing students that was used to pay institutional charges such as tuition, fees, housing, and other education-related expenses assessed by the institution. The funds returned to the aid source by the University will be credited against the students’ total liability of unearned funds. However, students will owe the University the amount returned to the aid source for institutional charges. In addition, any student who receives Title IV funds, who stops attending classes during the semester, and does not officially withdraw from the University, is considered an unofficial withdrawal according to Title IV federal regulations. The University is required to return unearned financial aid to the federal government for all unofficial withdrawals in the same manner as students who withdraw officially.
Students who owe grant and/or loan overpayments remain eligible for Title IV program funds for forty-five days, if, during those forty-five days the student: 1) repays the overpayment in full to the University; 2) enters into a repayment agreement with the University; or 3) enters into a repayment agreement with the Department of Education. Entering into a repayment agreement does not mean the student is eligible to register for additional classes, receive a transcript, diploma, etc. Students can lose financial aid eligibility if they do not comply with the options above and should consider their repayment responsibilities for these programs as part of any withdrawal decision. Please contact the Office of Financial Aid for the most current restrictions on eligibility.
Bright Future Repayment Requirement
Florida Statute requires that students who drop or withdraw from any course(s) must repay any Florida Bright Futures Scholarship disbursed for the course(s). Section 1009.53, Florida Statute states that funds for any scholarship within the Florida Bright Futures Scholarship Program may not be used to pay for courses dropped by a student or courses from which a student has withdrawn after the end of the drop and add period. However, a student who receives an award under this program and subsequently drops one or more courses or withdraws from all courses after the end of the drop and add period due to a verifiable illness or other documented emergency may be granted an exception pursuant to s. 1009.40(1)(b)4 unless the institution’s policy is to refund the cost of the courses.
Loan Exit Interviews
Federal and University regulations require that all recipients of federal loans participate in an exit interview counseling session upon graduation, withdrawal from the University, or dropping below six credit hours. These loans include: Perkins (NDSL), Subsidized Stafford (GSL), and Unsubsidized Stafford (UGSL) loans. Counseling sessions can be completed online at http://studentloans.gov. For more information, contact the Office of Financial Aid at email@example.com or (850) 644-0539.
Policy on Refunds for Audited Courses
Refunds may be granted for courses in which a student has requested permission to audit and subsequently rescinds this request before the fourth day of class. Verification that the audit request has been discontinued must be received in writing by the University Registrar before the fourth day of class. After this period, no refunds will be authorized unless exceptional circumstances are documented in writing and approved by the University Refund Committee.
Note: The refund request form or withdrawal form must be submitted to the Office of Student Business Services within six months from the end of the term from which the student withdrew.
All delinquent University accounts must be paid before students may complete registration. Payment should be made by cash, money order or cashier’s check. Financial aid granted for use in an upcoming semester may not be used to pay current debt. Outstanding debt, including delinquent current semester tuition, will prevent you from registering until all delinquent fees are paid. Diplomas and official transcripts will not be issued when any amount is owed the University. Delinquent accounts are referred to a collection agency if fees are not paid in full. Collection costs are added to your outstanding balance. Delinquent accounts should be paid by cash, money order, or cashier’s check.
Dishonored Checks or Electronic Payments
Return Check Charge/Stop Payment Charge: $25.00 or five percent of the amount of the check, whichever is greater (subject to change) will be assessed to the student’s account. A returned check/stop payment charge is assessed against a student’s account who has a check or electronic authorization for payment returned by the bank to Florida State University. Florida State University automatically submits all personal checks twice for payment if the check was returned once for non-sufficient or uncollected funds. This is an automated process and the second submission cannot be stopped; there is no charge, however, assessed by Florida State University for this second submission. Repayment of returned checks must be made with cash, FSUCard, money order, or cashier’s check.
Returned check charges are assessed for all personal checks written and electronic payments authorized for tuition, fees, or any services provided by the University that are returned to Florida State University for non-sufficient funds, uncollected funds, closed accounts, stop payments, etc., placed on checks. In addition to the returned check charge, if the initial payment is for tuition and redemption of the returned check is not made prior to the tuition payment deadline, a $100.00 late payment fee is assessed to tuition. Florida State University places a hold on accepting any personal checks or electronic payment authorizations on the student’s account for ninety days after redemption for any services, tuition, or fees that are owed to the University if a personal check or electronic payment authorization is returned. If a second check or electronic payment is returned, or if a stop payment is placed on it, the student will be permanently listed on all departments’ ACCEPT CASH ONLY list and no personal checks or electronic payment will be accepted from anyone on the student’s account from that day forward.
Notification will be given to the student by mail to the address on the check or to the last maintained address in Florida State University’s records. After notification that a check has been returned, redemption (including the service charge) must be made within fifteen days. Florida State University forwards all returned payments to the State Attorney’s Office for redemption and prosecution after collection efforts are exhausted. After a returned payment is forwarded to the State Attorney’s Office, restitution of the check will not prevent prosecution. Reference Florida Statutes Title XLVI Chapter 832; Crimes - Violations Involving Checks and Drafts; 832.07.
Cancellation of Student Schedules for Non-Payment of Tuition and Fees
Students are expected to pay all tuition and fees by the published deadline for each semester they enroll. In accordance with FSU Regulation-5.081 Tuition, Fees, Payment, students who do not pay tuition and fees or make arrangements to pay tuition and fees by the end of the established fee payment deadline may have their schedules cancelled and academic progress discontinued for the semester. Students who are cancelled for non-payment of tuition and fees will lose access to Blackboard for their courses and not be permitted to attend classes or receive grades after the cancellation takes place. For more information, please reference http://regulations.fsu.edu/content/download/21865/140868/file/Chapter5code.revised.11.2014-linked.pdf.
It is important that all students ensure they have an active FSU e-mail account. The FSU e-mail account is the official method by which the University will communicate with students concerning any outstanding financial obligations, including outstanding tuition and fees. Students will receive an official e-mail communication from the Office of Student Business Services at the end of the second week of the semester alerting them to the possibility of the cancellation of their current term’s schedule. Students will then have the opportunity to pay tuition and fees or make arrangements to pay tuition and fees to avoid being cancelled.
Students who fail to pay tuition and fees or make formal arrangements to pay tuition and fees by the end of the third week of the semester will receive an e-mail notification from the Office of Student Business Services. This notification will inform the student that his or her schedule has been cancelled and explain appeal process for the reinstatement of their schedule.
Students may check their account status online at any time at http://my.fsu.edu (from Student Account Quicklinks, click Account Statement) to determine any amounts owed to the University and to verify that payments have been made.
Reinstatement of Student Schedules Cancelled for Non-Payment of Tuition and Fees
Students whose schedules are cancelled for non-payment of tuition and fees may appeal to the University Registrar for the reinstatement of their schedule. The appeal must be made in writing and must be submitted to the University Registrar (A3900 University Center) no later than the end of the seventh week of the semester. The appeal will be reviewed and acted upon in a timely manner. Approval of the reinstatement of a student’s schedule is contingent upon verification from the Office of Student Business Services that tuition and fees have been paid or that formal arrangements have been made for tuition and fee payment. Reinstatement of schedules will also include a $100.00 late registration fee and a $100.00 late payment fee. Checks or credit card payments that are returned or refused will negate any tuition and fee payment arrangement for the reinstatement of a student’s schedule. The University reserves the right to deny reinstatement when a student has demonstrated a pattern of tuition delinquencies over a period of two or more semesters. Reinstatements for a given term must be submitted by the deadline. Reinstatement petitions received after the term is over will not be considered.