Graduate Financial Information, Tuition, Fees, Aid, Scholarships, and Employment
Vice President for Finance and Administration: Kyle Clark; Associate Vice President: Michael Williams; Controller: Judd Enfinger; Director, Office of Student Business Services: Gilman Page
Tuition and fees are collected by the Office of Student Business Services. Payment of registration fees and tuition detailed below is an integral part of the registration process.
Students with accounts owing greater than $499.99 which are not paid by the established due date will not be permitted to register for current or future semesters nor will they be permitted to receive transcripts or diplomas.
Graduate Fees. Fees for in-state and out-of-state residents are different. A listing of all graduate fees is available at https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/.
Tuition Payments and Arrangements. The student's username and password are required to access the Online Account Statement at https://my.fsu.edu/ (from myFSU Portal, click Student Central, My Bill, $ Make a Payment). Tuition and fees are due according to the established due dates found through MyFSU. Financial aid is disbursed up to ten days prior to the start of classes and as received by the University any time thereafter. We encourage students to submit their third-party agency billings as soon as they have registered for classes. All third-party agency billings, departmental billings, FSU employee scholarships, state employee waivers, and Veteran's deferments are due by the third day of classes each semester.
Assessment of Fees. Fees are established by the Florida State University Board of Trustees and the Florida State Legislature and are subject to change. The University will calculate and assess the charges to be settled for fees due based on the fee rates authorized by the Florida State University Board of Trustees and the student's schedule. Students should review their Account Summary at https://my.fsu.edu/ (from myFSU Portal) to verify the accuracy of the charges. At the time of payment, students should also review their payment receipt to verify the payment made, any outstanding charges owed, or any outstanding arrangements. Credit and debit card payments can be made at https://fees.fsu.edu/. Students who do not pay tuition and fees or make payment arrangements by the established deadline for each term will be assessed a $100.00 late payment fee and may have their course schedule cancelled. Payments made by credit card will incur a 2.75% service fee for cards drawn on domestic bank accounts and 4.25% service fee for international cards. ACH/Electronic Check transactions will not carry a service fee. Payments made by International Wire do not carry a service fee, but the student's bank may charge wire fees or other administrative costs.
Panama City Campus. Students who intend to enroll at the Panama City campus of Florida State University may pay their fees at: Cashier's Office, 4750 Collegiate Drive (Barron Building, 1st Floor), Panama City, FL 32405. Students may pay by check, money order, or cashier's check when paying in person. Credit card payments can ONLY be made at https://fees.fsu.edu/. For further information, please call (850) 770-2119 or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org.
Florida Residency Requirements for Tuition Purposes
The Florida Residency for Tuition Purposes Policy is based upon state statute, rules of the two higher education governing boards in Florida, and statewide guidelines developed by college and university administrators in conjunction with the Statewide Residency Committee and the Florida Department of Education. Section 1009.21, Florida Statutes, outlines the broad legal parameters for establishing residency for tuition purposes in Florida public higher education institutions. It is the highest level of authority regarding residency as established by the Florida Legislature. This statute also provides authority for the Department of Education to establish rules related to residency for tuition purposes.
Please note: Under Florida law it is possible for U.S. citizens with undocumented parents/guardians, lawful permanent residents, and certain non-U.S. citizens to be classified as Florida residents for tuition paying purposes. In addition, undocumented and Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) students who have attended a Florida secondary school for three consecutive years immediately preceding high school graduation, and apply for enrollment to a Florida public post-secondary institution within 24 months of high school graduation, may qualify for a waiver of out-of-state tuition fees.
At Florida State University there are three offices responsible for the review of residency for tuition purposes: the Office of Admissions, the College of Law, and the College of Medicine. The Office of Admissions determines residency for first-time-on-campus students except for the applicants to the College of Law or College of Medicine which are handled by their respective admissions staff. Reclassification determinations for students who enroll as out-of-state students for tuition purposes and wish to change to in-state students for tuition purposes are handled by the Office of Admissions. Each residency decision will be determined based upon all available information from the application for admission and the "Florida Residency Declaration for Tuition Purposes" form. The University reserves the right to request additional information if warranted.
For the full text of Florida Statute, Section 1009.21: https://www.flsenate.gov/Laws/Statutes/2014/1009.21
For the full text of State Board of Education Rule 6A-10.044: https://www.flrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?ID=6A-10.044
For the full text of State Board of Education Rule 6A-20.003: https://www.flrules.org/gateway/RuleNo.asp?ID=6A-20.003
For the full text of Board of Governors Residency Regulation 7.005: https://flbog.edu/regulations/active-regulations/?fwp_chapters=chapter-07
Residency Appeal Committee
Students who are denied the classification of Florida resident for tuition purposes have the right of appeal. The appeal must be based upon new information that was not made available during the initial review. All appeals must be in writing to the Residency Appeal Committee, care of the Office of Admissions. Appeals should be submitted as soon as possible after receipt of the initial decision and no later than the end of the term for which Florida residency for tuition purposes is desired. All appeals will be reviewed by the Residency Appeal Committee and Committee decisions are final.
A Residency Guidelines document was adopted by the Articulation Coordinating Committee to assist college and university administrators in implementing Florida Residency for Tuition Purposes Policy. The Guidelines are maintained by the Statewide Residency Committee which is comprised of residency experts from the state's public colleges and universities.
For the full text of the Guidelines on Florida Residency for Tuition Purposes, visit https://www.floridacollegesystem.com/sites/www/Uploads/files/Students_pages/ACCResidencyGuidelines.pdf.
Basic Definition of Residency for Tuition Purposes
A Florida resident is a student who has, or a dependent person whose parent or legal guardian has, established and maintained legal residency in Florida for at least twelve months preceding the first day of classes of the term for which residency is sought. Residence in Florida must be as a bona fide domicile rather than for the purpose of maintaining a residence incident to enrollment at an institution of higher education. To qualify as a Florida resident for tuition purposes, the student must be a U.S. citizen, permanent resident alien, or in legal status as determined by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS).
Please note: See above for information about individuals who are U.S. citizens with undocumented parents/guardians, lawful permanent residents, Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA), and certain non-U.S. citizens who may be classified as Florida residents for tuition paying purposes.
Other persons not meeting the twelve-month legal residency requirement may be considered as Florida residents for tuition purposes only if they fall within one of the exception categories authorized by the Florida Legislature and State Board of Education. All other persons are ineligible for classification as a Florida resident for tuition purposes.
Living in or attending school in Florida will not, in itself, establish legal residence for tuition purposes. Each student shall submit a Florida Residency Declaration for Tuition Purposes form, electronically or in another format, and the documentation required to establish Florida residency for tuition purposes. The burden of providing clear and convincing documentation that justifies the University's classification of a student as a resident for tuition purposes rests with the student. For documentation to be "clear and convincing," it must be credible, trustworthy, and sufficient to persuade the University that the applicant has established legal residence in Florida. Students who depend on out-of-state parents for support are presumed to be legal residents of the same state as their parents.
Tuition and Instructional Fees
The "Academic Calendar" appearing in the Registration Guide each term sets forth the beginning and ending dates of each term and all deadlines.
Assessment of Fees
The following fees and charges are based on current rates; however, since the General Bulletin must be published in advance of its effective date, it is not always possible to anticipate changes, and the fee schedule may be revised. Every effort will be made to publicize changes for any semester in advance of the registration date for that semester. Current information is available at https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/.
Students are assessed fees based on the level of the course as established by the State Board of Education and the Florida State Legislature.
Actual Course Fee Charge per Credit Hour 2023–2024 at the FSU Main Campus
|Course Level||In-State & Enrolled in a Florida Prepaid Account Before 7/1/07||In-State */**||Out-of-State */**|
|Repeat Course Fee per credit hour (undergraduate only)||$189.74||$189.74|
Includes Tuition Differential Fee
|Course Level||In State**||Out-of-State**|
|5000 and above||$479.32||$1,110.72|
|Medical per year||see https://med.fsu.edu/|
**Per credit hour does not include the Student Facilities Use Fee assessed to Main Campus Students at the rate of $20 per semester.
Actual Course Fee Charge per Credit Hour 2023–2024 at the FSU Panama City Campus
|Course Level||In-State||Alabama/Georgia Special Rate*||Out-of-State|
|Course Level||In State||Alabama/Georgia Special Rate*||Out-of-State|
|5000 and above||$444.26||$464.26||$1,075.66|
Zero Credit-Hour Course Fees
Registration for zero credit-hour provides for examinations, graduations, use of facilities, etc., when deemed appropriate by the institution. The student is assessed Resident tuition and fees for one credit hour. If the student is simultaneously registered for other credit courses, the charge for the zero-hour registration will not be assessed.
Students enrolled in cooperative education courses with zero semester hours will be charged for one semester hour of Florida resident undergraduate work, unless also enrolled in other credit courses at Florida State University during the same academic term.
Students registered in courses for zero semester hours (master's comprehensive examination, master's thesis defense, dissertation defense, or other graduate-level zero semester hour courses) will be charged for one Florida resident graduate semester hour, unless also enrolled in other credit courses at Florida State University during the same academic term.
Special Fees, Fines, and Penalties
Note: All fees subject to change.
Application Fee: $30.00. Applicants for admission as degree-seeking or non-degree-seeking are assessed a non-refundable application fee.
Admission Deposit: $200.00. Admitted freshman and law school students who plan to attend Florida State University must pay a non-refundable fee that will be applied to their tuition.
Late Registration Fee: $100.00. A late registration fee is assessed when a student does not begin registration during the time provided under the academic calendar.
Late Payment Fee: $100.00. A late payment fee is assessed against students who do not pay their tuition in full by the required due dates (see the "Academic Calendar" in this General Bulletin).
FSUCard Term Fee: An FSUCard semi-annual fee of $5.00 is assessed to students each Fall and Spring semester based on campus and location.
Replacement FSUCards: $15.00. A fee for the preparation of a new card is assessed against those students, including high school students, who lose their FSUCards.
Duplication/Photocopying Fee: At cost. A fee is assessed for duplicating or photocopying documents.
Standard Tests Fee: At cost. A fee is assessed for test materials and related factoring or grading charges levied by an external agency used in standardized tests, such as the Graduate Record Examinations.
Transcript Fee: $10.00. This fee is assessed for each official transcript issued.
Installment Contract Fee: $15.00 per contract. This fee is assessed for executing an installment contract for tuition payment available during Fall and Spring semesters only.
Transportation Access Fee: $8.90 per credit hour. Rate subject to change. This fee is assessed per credit hour to all main campus students. It covers all modes of transportation on campus such as sidewalks, bikes, mass transit (on- and off-campus buses), and vehicles. Revenue generated by this fee is used to improve the overall infrastructure of campus for all students. For additional information about parking locations, rules, regulations, and rates, go to https://transportation.fsu.edu/.
Returned Check Charge/Stop Payment Charge: $25.00 or five percent (5%) of the amount of the check, whichever is greater (rate subject to change). A returned check/stop payment charge is assessed against the account of a student who has a check or electronic authorization for payment returned by the bank to Florida State University. Florida State University automatically submits all personal checks twice for payment if the check was returned once for insufficient or uncollected funds. This is an automated process, and the second submission cannot be stopped; however, there is no charge assessed by Florida State University for this second submission.
Returned check charges are assessed for all personal checks written and electronic payments authorized for tuition, fees, or any services provided by the University that are returned to Florida State University for insufficient funds, uncollected funds, and stop payments placed on checks. In addition to the returned check charge, if the initial payment is for tuition and redemption of the returned item is not made prior to the tuition payment deadline, a late payment fee is assessed to tuition and student may be subject to tuition cancellation. Florida State University places a hold on accepting any personal checks or electronic payment authorizations from anyone on the student's account for ninety days after redemption for any services, tuition, or fees that are owed to the University if a personal check or electronic payment is returned. Redemption must be paid online, by mail, or in person via a money order, or cashier's check. If a second check is returned, or a stop payment is placed on it, no personal checks will be accepted from anyone on the student's account from that day forward.
Notification will be sent to the student via email the day that the item is returned. If not paid in a timely manner, a paper letter is sent to the address on the check or to the last maintained address in Florida State University's records. A copy of the notification letter will be sent to the maker of the check at the address on the check, if the student is not the person on whose account the funds are drawn. After notification that a check has been returned, redemption including the service charge must be made by seven working days with cash, money order, or cashier's check. Florida State University reserves the right to forward returned checks to the State Attorney's office for redemption and prosecution after collection efforts are exhausted. After a returned check is forwarded to the State Attorney's office, redemption of the check will not prevent prosecution.
Thesis, Treatise, and Dissertation Fees: All Thesis, Treatise, and Dissertation students are required to submit their manuscripts to ProQuest directly. There is no fee associated with traditional publishing. Students may choose to pay a copyright fee, an open access fee, or may order bound copies, if desired.
- Copyright Fee: Optional through UMI/ETD, at cost.
- Open Access Fee: Optional through UMI/ETD, at cost
Loss and Damage Fees: At cost. Students who lose or damage equipment may be assessed a breakage or loss fee to pay for breakage or loss of equipment. Upon completion of the course, the instructor will prepare a listing of the cost of all such lost and damaged equipment and assess the student a loss or damage fee. The charge varies, based on the cost of the item, and generally applies to students taking laboratory courses.
Scientific Laboratory Fees: Varies. Students enrolled in certain laboratory courses are assessed a fee that is used to offset the cost of scientific materials or items consumed in the course of the students' laboratory activities. These fees are assessed based on the course.
Note: All fees subject to change.
|Overdue Fees||Replacement Fees|
|Books||Billed for replacement cost at 60 days overdue, or damaged|
|Failure to Return Recalled Items||Billed for replacement cost at 10 days overdue, or damaged|
|Interlibrary Loan||Cost determined by the loaning library||Cost determined by the loaning library|
|Reserves||$3.00 per hour||Billed for replacement cost if lost or damaged|
|Media Equipment||Varies||Varies, information available at lib.fsu.edu|
|Laptops||$10.00 per hour||$1,800 replacement cost if lost or damaged|
|Laptop Power Cords||$5.00 per hour||Billed for replacement cost if lost or damaged|
|Headphones||$0.25 per hour||Billed for replacement cost if lost or damaged|
|Study Room Keys||$10.00 per hour||Replacement charge of up to $75 for lost keys|
For complete descriptions of housing facilities, services, costs, and how to contract for University Housing, refer to the "Housing" chapter of this General Bulletin.
Annual Estimate of Cost
The annual estimated costs listed below are for the 2022–2023 academic year and do not include Summer tuition. They do not apply to law or medical students. The estimate is taken from the Office of Financial Aid Website at https://financialaid.fsu.edu/.
Note: International students should refer to https://cge.fsu.edu/international-students/new-students for an estimated cost of attendance.
|Graduate||Florida Residents||Non-Florida Residents|
1 The tuition and fee estimate is based on ten semester hours for graduate students attending two terms (Fall and Spring) per year at the Tallahassee campus. Refer to the Student Business Services Website at https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/ for tuition rates for all campuses or specific programs.
2 Cost of meeting this requirement is included in financial aid considerations. Students who currently have health insurance may show proof of comparable coverage and may not be required to purchase the University policy. Refer to https://uhs.fsu.edu/ for additional information.
Payment of Fees
Payment of registration fees and tuition detailed below is an integral part of the registration process. Registration (including payment of fees) must be completed on or before the proper due date. The appropriate University office must be provided a properly executed authorization to defer fees prior to the deadline published in the academic calendar in those cases where fees are to be paid by a previously approved loan, scholarship, or other third-party arrangement. Florida Prepaid College Program without local fees does not pay the full amount due, nor do Intern Participation Certificates. Students must pay the remaining balance due by the published deadline.
Method of Payment
Students who enroll must pay fees and tuition in full or initiate an installment contract by the tuition payment deadline. We encourage students to submit their third-party agency billings as soon as they have registered for classes. All waivers, agency billings, and department billings for all students must be submitted by the third day of the term. Financial aid deferments will be entered by the Office of Financial Aid for eligible student accounts. If tuition is not paid or arrangements have not been made by the posted deadlines, a late payment fee will be assessed. Any course added after the tuition payment deadline must be paid in full within five days or a $100.00 late payment fee will be assessed. The University does not send out a paper bill because students may change their course schedule and therefore the amount owed through the fourth day of the semester will be inaccurate. Tuition and fees should be paid by the fee payment deadline as posted at https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/. Note that other University related fees have separate and earlier deadlines. Students can, however, get the amount of their tuition and fees due on the Internet at https://my.fsu.edu/ (from myFSU Student Portal, click $ Make a Payment) or when they register for classes through the Web. Other options include calling the Office of Student Business Services at (850) 644-9452, or going to A1500 University Center, 8:30 a.m.–4:30 p.m. Monday–Friday. In-person payments are no longer accepted, but agents are available to review student accounts and answer questions.
Florida State University does not accept two-party checks or foreign checks for payment. Make checks payable to Florida State University and include one of the following on your check: your EMPLID, the last four digits of your social security number, or your FSU e-mail address, your driver's license number, as well as your local phone and address. We accept American Express, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, and electronic checks via Internet only. Payment methods are described below. Credit card payments can only be made through the Internet at https://fees.fsu.edu/, Student Central at https://my.fsu.edu/. There is a 2.75% nonrefundable fee for each transaction.
Installment Contracts. The Student Business Services Tuition Installment Contract is a form of tuition payment plan that the University offers. This plan is only available in the Fall and Spring terms. Through this plan, students must pay half (tuition and fees greater than $150.00) of their currently owed tuition, plus a $15.00 Installment Contract Fee, by noon on the main campus tuition payment deadline. The second half of the installment payment is due by the sixth week of class. Students can sign up for payment plans entirely through the Transact system and will receive emails as payment dates are approaching. To enroll in the Traditional Installment Plan, log into MyFSU.
Convenient Drop Box for Payments. Student Business Services will accept check, money order, or cashier's check in our drop box. Our secure payment drop box is located outside our office at A1500 University Center. It is available for check payments 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, including holidays and weekends. All payments will be receipted by the next business day. All checks, money orders, and cashier's checks should be made payable to Florida State University or FSU. Insert a check, money order or cashier's check in the provided envelope, and put the envelope in the drop box. Payments are processed the next business day. Payments received in the drop box by 4:30 p.m. on the tuition payment deadline will be considered on time. Payments inserted after 4:30 p.m. will be considered late and assessed a $100.00 late payment fee. Please do not deposit cash. We will not process foreign checks or two-party checks. Make checks payable to Florida State University and include one of the following on your check: your EMPLID, the last four digits of your social security number, or your FSU e-mail address, driver's license number, as well as your local phone and address. Checks not completed properly will be considered late.
Mail-In Tuition and Fee Payments Must Be Received by the Deadline. When paying fees by mail, send a personal check, money order, or cashier's check for the full amount of fees due. Please do not send cash. Checks not received by the tuition payment deadline will be considered late and will be assessed a $100.00 late payment fee. We will not process foreign checks, checks not completed properly, or two-party checks. Make checks payable to Florida State University and include one of the following on your check: your EMPLID, the last four digits of your social security number, or your FSU e-mail address, your driver's license number, as well as your local phone and address. Checks not properly completed will be considered late. Payments should be mailed to Florida State University, Office of Student Business Services, A1500 University Center, Tallahassee, FL 32306-2394.
Agency Billing. Students are responsible for all tuition and fees upon registration. Forms are available at https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/. Students who are requesting their tuition be paid by an agency must submit the required documents as soon as possible, but no later than the third day of the semester, and preferably thirty days in advance. Those students receiving financial aid should submit the documents by the third day of the semester; otherwise, tuition will be deducted from the student's financial aid and refunds will not be made to the student until the agency or department makes their payment to the Office of Student Business Services. Financial aid students must report this payment as an income source on their application, or upon further evaluation by the Office of Student Financial Aid, the student may be "over-awarded" and may be required to repay financial aid to the University. If the agency or department has not paid the tuition by the end of the current semester, a late payment fee of $100.00 will be assessed to the student's account and the student is required to pay it before being granted other University services. Accounts left unpaid at the end of the semester will be put in a delinquent status and the student will not be able to receive University services if the unpaid balance exceeds $499.99 (registration, transcripts, etc.) Agencies that do not pay in a timely manner may cause the Office of Student Business Services to put the student's account in a non-billing status for subsequent semesters; consequently, the student will be required to pay tuition by the regularly scheduled deadline, and the University will refund to the student the amount that the agency pays (less University charges) after they have paid it. Students with agency payments that are contingent upon grade(s) received are not eligible for agency billing, and tuition must be paid by the regularly scheduled deadline. The Office of Student Business Services does not bill agencies for housing, books, meals, etc.
Departmental Billing. Departmental billings must be submitted to the Office of Student Business Services by the appropriate college or school by the third day of each semester. Financial aid students must report this payment as an income source on their application, or, upon further evaluation by the Office of Student Financial Aid, the student may be "over-awarded" and may be required to repay financial aid to the University. For information regarding departmental billings, undergraduate students should contact the Office of Faculty Development and Advancement at (850) 644-6876; graduate students should contact the Dean of the Graduate School at (850) 644-3501.
State Employee Tuition Waiver
Full-time state employees may be eligible for the state employee tuition waiver. Registration in classes is limited to a space-available basis. Individuals using the state tuition waiver must be fully admitted degree-seeking or non-degree-seeking students. Florida State University does not consider the following to be space-available courses: remedial courses; dissertation, thesis, and directed individual study (DIS) courses; internship courses; Center for Academic and Professional Development (CAPD) courses; College of Medicine courses; College of Law courses; other one-to-one instruction courses; and all non-state funded courses (including some distance learning courses that are funded solely by student tuition and fees). Please contact the academic department to inquire about course funding. Accordingly, state employee tuition waivers may not be used for these courses.
Florida State University accepts only the official FSU State Employee Tuition Wavier form. Agencies may require additional paperwork or forms that will not be accepted at Florida State University unless accompanied by the FSU State Employee Tuition Waiver form.
State employees using a tuition waiver must complete the registration process and submit the tuition waiver to the Office of Student Business Services.
Panama City Campus
Students who intend to enroll at the Panama City campus of Florida State University may pay their fees at: Cashier's Office, 4750 Collegiate Drive, Panama City, FL 32405. Students may pay by check, money order, or cashier's check when paying in person. Credit card payments can ONLY be made via the Internet at https://fees.fsu.edu/ or by logging into https://my.fsu.edu/ and visiting Student Central. Payments made by credit card will incur a 2.75% service fee for cards drawn on domestic bank accounts, and 4.25% service fee for international cards. ACH/Electronic Check transactions will not carry a service fee. Payments made by International Wire do not carry a service fee, but the student's bank may charge wire fees or other administrative costs. For further information, please call (850) 770-2119 or e-mail email@example.com.
Florida Prepaid College Program
This program was created by the State of Florida to guarantee payment of tuition and may include optional dormitory contract guarantees and an optional local fee plan, and differential fee plan (note: the differential fee is waived for semesters during which plans contracted in summer of 2007 or earlier are billed). The primary plan pays the rate the University assesses for tuition (i.e. the matriculation fee), plus student financial aid and capital improvement fees, but excludes local fees (i.e. athletics, activities and services, student health) unless the local fees plan was purchased. Additionally, there are fees that no Florida Prepaid plan covers, including laboratory and equipment fees, transportation access, technology, student facilities use fee, online class fees, and books. Fees not covered by Florida Prepaid must be paid by the student using one of the options described above and by the deadlines stated above. The student is to verify that the billing is being processed by reviewing the FSU bill available at https://my.fsu.edu/. Students using the Florida Prepaid College Program are responsible for paying any fees not covered by Florida Prepaid by the tuition payment deadline or they will be assessed a $100.00 late payment fee. (Rate subject to change). Additional information may be obtained by writing: Florida Prepaid College Program, P.O. Box 6448, Tallahassee, FL 32314-6448; by calling 1 (800) 552-4723, or by visiting https://www.myfloridaprepaid.com/.
Liability is incurred for all credit hours at the time of registration for classes. The student is responsible for dropping classes or withdrawing from school. For more information on policies regarding attendance and schedule cancellation, please refer to the section on 'Cancellation of Student Schedules for Non-Payment of Tuition and Fees'. Out-of-state tuition and matriculation fee waivers will not cover dropped or withdrawn classes.
Repeat Course Surcharge
Section 1009.29, Florida Statutes, mandates that each student attempting the same non-repeatable undergraduate course more than twice beginning with the Fall Semester 1997 shall be assessed an additional per credit hour surcharge beginning with the third attempt. Attempted hours include those hours dropped, withdrawn, and repeated that are fee liable. Undergraduate level courses are numbered 1000 to 4999.
The repeat course surcharge is subject to change annually based upon calculations by the Florida Board of Governors.
The only exceptions:
- Any course taken prior to Fall 1997;
- Attempts taken at an institution other than FSU;
- Graduate level courses (courses numbered 5000 and above);
- Any non-fee-liable course dropped or withdrawn;
- Courses taken through cooperative education, military, waivers, and audits; and,
- Individualized study, courses that are repeated as a requirement of a major, and courses that are intended as continuing over multiple semesters. However, courses repeated more than two times to increase GPA or meet minimum course grade requirements are eligible for the surcharge.
Repeat Course Surcharge Appeal
Section 1009.285, Florida Statutes, provides authority to universities to consider appeal of the repeat course surcharge based on documented evidence of financial hardship. Appeal forms are available in the Office of the University Registrar, A3900 University Center, Tallahassee, FL 32306-2480, (850) 644-3403. Appeals must be submitted to the Office of the University Registrar no later than the last day of classes for the term in which the surcharge is assessed.
Students who have amounts owed to the University greater than $499.99 may not complete their registration, receive a diploma, receive an Associate of Arts degree, or receive a transcript until all amounts owed to the University have been satisfactorily settled. This includes, but is not limited to, library charges, health center charges, parking fines, and University debt. All payments will be applied to the current tuition first and then to the oldest outstanding debt. Nonrefundable collection fees, as well as legal fees and interest assessment through court judgments, are added to a student's account if the student has had an outstanding debt for 120 days or longer. When an account is sent to a collection agency, the customer must make payment arrangements directly with the agency. Payment arrangements do not permit student privileges such as registration, official transcripts, etc. Accounts must be paid in full to obtain further privileges.
Registration Stop for Outstanding Charges
A "stop" is placed on all academic progress for those students who have outstanding charges due to the University. Students owing an amount equal to or greater than $500.00, including current semester tuition, are not permitted to register for classes. The "stop" will not be removed, and such students will not be permitted to register or receive other University services, until the debt is cleared. A hold on transcripts and diplomas will be placed on students for outstanding charges of any amount.
Cancellation of Student Schedules for Non-Payment of Tuition and Fees
In accordance with Florida State University Regulation 5.081 Tuition, Fees, Payment, students who do not pay tuition and fees or make arrangements to pay tuition and fees by the end of the established fee payment deadline may have their schedules cancelled and academic progress discontinued for the semester. Students will be notified using their FSU e-mail account concerning outstanding tuition delinquencies and given an opportunity to pay tuition and fees or make arrangements for tuition and fee payment with the Office of Student Business Services prior to cancellation. Students whose schedules are canceled for non-payment of tuition and fees will have their academic progress discontinued for the term in question and will not be able to attend class or receive grades. For more information, please reference FSU Adopted Regulations, Chapter 5 - Academic Matters available at https://regulations.fsu.edu/regulations/adopted-regulations.
Reinstatement of Student Schedules Cancelled for Non-Payment of Tuition and Fees
Students whose schedules are cancelled for non-payment of tuition and fees may appeal to the University Registrar for reinstatement and continuation of academic progress for the term. A written appeal must be submitted to the University Registrar by the end of the seventh week of classes as identified in the University Academic Calendar (consult the Registration Guide for deadline dates). Prior to a student's appeal being approved, the Office of Student Business Services must verify that payment for the current term has been received or that appropriate arrangements have been made for tuition and fee payment. Students whose schedules are reinstated are subject to a $100.00 late registration fee and a $100.00 late payment fee. Check or credit card payments that are returned or refused will negate any tuition payment agreement for the reinstatement of a student's schedule. The University reserves the right to deny reinstatement when a demonstrated pattern of tuition delinquencies over two or more semesters has occurred.
Note: The appeal must be submitted by the seventh week deadline for the term that was cancelled. Appeals received during the next term, for a prior term's cancellation, will be deemed to have missed the deadline and may not be considered.
Tuition Waivers, Deferments, and Financial Arrangements
Out-of-State Tuition and Out-of-State Fee Waivers
Florida State University is a comprehensive university that assists students in their degree completion, research, and instructional activities. Under the terms of Florida statute (1009.26(9)), the State University System Board of Governors authorizes Florida State University's Board of Trustees to waive tuition and out of state fees, "for purposes that support and enhance the mission of the University." To fulfill the University's goals and obligations, the University provides tuition waivers for qualifying graduate assistants and out-of-state tuition waivers when funding allows. To be eligible for tuition and out-of-state fee waivers, a graduate assistant must be appointed on one of the following codes: M9182, M9183, M9184, N9185, W9185, Z9185; have at least a full-time equivalent of one-quarter time; and the assistantship must be at least beginning the first day of each academic term and last through the last day of finals. Additionally, the graduate assistant should have an approved full-time load, which is a minimum of nine (9) hours for the Fall and Spring semesters.
The established priorities for the use of waiver funds are as follows:
- Teaching assistants
- Research assistants on contracts and grants
- Assistants not appointed as teaching assistants or on contracts or grants
Only students with regular graduate student status are eligible for graduate assistantships. Special, provisional, and part-time students do not qualify for graduate assistantships.
Waivers are also provided as part of some fellowship packages offered by the University.
Waivers are cancelled if the student withdraws from the University, drops below the required academic load, or terminates the assistantship or fellowship. Waivers will be revoked if any University authority terminates the assistantship upon which the waiver is based or cancels the student's enrollment. Waivers will not cover any dropped classes. The student will be responsible for the corresponding tuition should a waiver be cancelled or revoked. The student will be responsible for any fees assessed.
Military Veterans, Service Members, and Their Dependents
For information regarding out-of-state tuition waivers for military veterans, service members, and their dependents, please refer to the "Student Veteran Information" chapter herein.
Florida Residents Over 60 Years of Age
When registering to audit courses not for credit, all fees are waived for citizens sixty years of age and older who are Florida residents. All requirements pertaining to auditing courses must be met, and, in addition, proof of age and residency must be presented. For further information, refer to the "Academic Regulations and Procedures" chapter of this General Bulletin.
Note: Audited courses do not earn credit hours or appear on a student's permanent record.
Waiver of Late Fees
A student may request a waiver of the late registration fee at the Office of Student Business Services. Documentation supporting University error or extraordinary circumstances will be required.
A student may request a waiver of the late payment fee at the Office of Student Business Services if payment was not made by the established deadline because of a University error, administrative error, or extraordinary circumstances beyond the control of the student. Supporting documentation is required.
Note: Lack of funds, not applying for financial aid on time, or not being aware of the payment deadline are not valid reasons for waiving the late fee. Request to waive late payment fees must be made by completing a waiver request form available online at https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/. If the request is denied, the student may appeal to the Late Payment Fee Appeals Committee by contacting the Office of Student Business Services at (850) 644-9452. The committee meets once a month or as needed.
The Late Payment Fee Appeals Committee, which consists of representatives from the Office of the University Registrar, Office of Financial Aid, and the Office of Student Business Services, provides an opportunity for students to appeal a denial of their request for a late payment waiver. The appeals committee's decision is the final step in the University's late payment appeal process. Forms are available at https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/.
Deferments and Financial Arrangements
Financial aid is disbursed early in the semester. Students must pay or make arrangements to pay all fees due by the tuition payment deadline.
Financial aid deferments are authorized by the Office of Financial Aid. Departmental billings are authorized by the school or college issuing the billing. Agency billings are authorized by the approved agency to pay fees on behalf of the student. The third-party billings are to be completed by the student at A1500 University Center no later than the third day of the term. Outstanding tuition from a previous semester will be deducted from financial aid received during a current semester. A refund will not be processed until payment is made by the agency or department. Agency billing forms are available at https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/.
Veterans Deferments. For information regarding veteran's deferments, please refer to the "Student Veteran Information" chapter herein.
Individuals who make application to Florida State University shall pay a nonrefundable application fee of $30.00. This fee may be waived for graduate applicants in designated sponsored programs.
Refund of Fees
Regulations Concerning Refund of Fees Paid
Students incur a liability for all credit hours that remain on their schedule of courses as of the end of the official drop/add period. The amount of this liability is identified on the Student Assessment Payment Schedule. Any amount paid in excess of the amount owed (assessed fee and outstanding University charges) during the term will be carried forward and will be applied against subsequent University charges incurred or may be refunded by request.
Full refunds of tuition fees may be granted in instances of withdrawal from the University under the following conditions:
- Involuntary call to active military duty
- Death of the student or death in the immediate family (parent, spouse, child, sibling)
- Illness of the student of such duration or severity, as confirmed in writing by a physician, that completion of the term is precluded
- Cancellation of the course by the University
- Exceptional circumstances that could not have been foreseen and were beyond the control of the student, as approved by the University refund committee.
Students who drop a course without fee liability after their tuition and fees are paid may be eligible for a tuition refund. Any amount paid in excess of the amount owed to the University during the semester/term will be carried forward and may be applied against subsequent University charges incurred or will be refunded upon request; however, any outstanding charges owed to the University will be deducted and the balance will be issued as a refund. The refund will be processed as a credit to the student's direct deposit bank account or by check when required. Payments made by credit card will be refunded to the payment card. Refunds requested during the fiscal year close-out, during the last two weeks of June, will not be processed until the first week of July.
Students who withdraw after the fourth day of the semester/term but prior to the end of the fourth week of the semester (or for Summer sessions by the first twenty-five percent of the term) are eligible for a twenty-five percent refund of tuition and fees. After this period, students who withdraw are held fully liable for fees. Students who withdraw and have received federal financial aid (Title IV programs), state or university aid may be required to repay to the aid source the amount of unearned financial aid funds disbursed to them as of their withdrawal date as described in the section on 'Withdrawals and Return of Financial Aid.'
Note: In the case where a withdrawal petition is approved, a refund can only be provided if the refund withdrawal request is submitted and completed within six months after the end of the semester/term in which the withdrawal occurred. If financial aid is received by the student during the term in which the refund is granted, state and federal regulations may require that the refund be returned to the aid source.
An application for a request for refund of fees should be submitted as follows:
- Food Plan. Director of Food Services, 144 Oglesby Union
- Housing Fees. Assistant Director of Housing for Contracts and Assignments, 109 Student Life Building
- Parking Decals. Director of Transportation & Parking Services, 104 North Woodward Avenue
- Textbooks. Manager of Florida State University Bookstore, Parking Garage, Main Level
Withdrawal and Return of Financial Aid
Per federal regulation (34 CFR 668.22), students who withdraw and have received financial aid will be required to repay to the program sources the amount of unearned financial aid funds disbursed to them as of their withdrawal date. The unearned amount of program funds is calculated based on the last date of academic activity, which indicates the percentage of the semester completed.
Both the University and students receiving financial aid are required to return unearned financial aid to the aid source. Title IV aid programs are repaid in the following order: Unsubsidized Stafford/Direct loans, Subsidized Federal Stafford/Direct loans, Federal Perkins Loans, Federal PLUS/Direct PLUS loans, Federal Pell Grants, Federal Supplemental Education Opportunity Grant (FSEOG) Program, and Teach Education Assistance for College and Higher Education (Teach) Grants.
The University is required to return the unearned portion of financial aid funds that was used to pay institutional charges such as tuition, fees, housing, and other education-related expenses assessed by the institution. The funds returned to the aid source by the University will be credited against the students' total liability of unearned funds. Students will owe the University the amount returned to the aid source for institutional charges.
Additionally, any student who receives Title IV funds who stops attending classes during the semester or fails to earn credit for any classes during the term and does not officially withdraw from the University is considered an unofficial withdrawal according to Title IV federal regulations. The University is required to return unearned financial aid to the federal government for all unofficial withdrawals in the same manner as students who withdraw officially.
Students who owe grant overpayments remain eligible for Title IV program funds for forty-five days if, during those forty-five days, the student: 1) repays the overpayment in full to the University; 2) enters into a repayment agreement with the University; or 3) enters into a repayment agreement with the Department of Education. Entering into a repayment agreement does not mean the student is eligible to register for additional classes, receive a transcript, diploma, etc. Students can lose financial aid eligibility if they do not comply with the options above and should consider their repayment responsibilities for these programs as part of any withdrawal decision.
Bright Future Repayment Requirement
Students who were eligible for Bright Futures and who graduated with a baccalaureate degree in seven or fewer semesters, or in 105 semester hours or fewer, may receive funding for one semester of graduate study, not to exceed 15 credit hours paid at the undergraduate rate. Florida Statute also requires that students who drop or withdraw from any course(s) must repay any Florida Bright Futures Scholarship disbursed for the course(s). However, a student who receives an award under this program and subsequently drops one or more courses or withdraws from all courses after the end of the drop and add period due to a verifiable illness or other documented emergency may be granted and exception pursuant to s. 1009.40(1)(b)4., unless the institution's policy is to refund the cost of the courses.
Director of Financial Aid: Suzanne Vickers
Florida State University recognizes the high cost of education today and makes every effort to offer financial assistance through a variety of programs to qualified students. In addition to providing funds based on demonstrated financial need in the form of grants, work-study offers, and loans, the University offers scholarships to recognize and reward talent, academic achievement, and meritorious performance.
The Office of Financial Aid is committed to serving and guiding students through the process of applying for financial aid. Help in completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) is available from professional financial aid counselors located in the University Center Building A, Room 4400.
After a student completes the FAFSA and is admitted, the financial aid status should be monitored by visiting https://my.fsu.edu/. This site also provides information on any outstanding documents required to complete the financial aid file. Upon admission and completion of the financial aid file a student's financial aid offer may also be found on this site.
The hours of operation for the Office of Financial Aid are 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Counseling is available by phone at (850) 644-0539 or at the information center A4400 University Center, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Panama City Campus
Students who intend to enroll at the Panama City campus and need financial support should contact: Coordinator for Financial Aid/Veteran Affairs, Office of Student Affairs, 4750 Collegiate Drive, Panama City, FL 32405, or by phone at (850) 770-2177.
Graduate students may apply for federal loans and federal work-study by completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) at https://studentaid.gov/h/apply-for-aid/fafsa. Graduate fellowships and assistantships are awarded through the Graduate School and the respective academic departments.
Financial aid offers have eligibility requirements. Please see Financial Aid Terms and Conditions for specific award requirements. Visit https://financialaid.fsu.edu/ for additional information.
Degree Applicable Hours
Degree-seeking students, regardless of academic career, will be provided a multitude of advising resources, ranging from in-person advising, online program of study guides, academic maps, and/or graduate committee review. Qualitative and quantitative metrics are maintained to ensure student enrollment in courses relevant to their academic degree programs and majors, as such these courses are deemed degree-applicable for financial aid purposes. Inclusion in a degree progression initiative may require students to enroll in specific classes. These classes are considered degree-applicable by the University. Students not actively assigned to a structured degree progression initiative may self-identify as needing additional support and may enroll in the same classes, where allowed. In these cases, the courses are considered elective hours and are considered degree-applicable by the University. Courses not deemed degree applicable may be ineligible for certain types of financial aid.
The federal financial aid application period for the 2023-2024 year begins October 1, 2022 and ends June 30, 2024. Some federal and institutional grant funds and federal work-study funds are limited, so students are encouraged to apply as soon as possible after October 1, 2022.
This application is valid for Fall 2023, Spring 2024, and Summer 2024.
Financial Aid Application Process
To apply for federal, state, and institutional aid at Florida State University, students must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA). Students are encouraged to apply online at: https://studentaid.gov/h/apply-for-aid/fafsa.
To apply, the following materials will be necessary to complete the data required:
- The student's social security card and driver's license
- W-2 forms or other records of income earned for tax year 2021
- Student's and student's spouse's (if married) Federal Income Tax Return for tax year 2021
- Records of other untaxed income received, such as welfare benefits, social security benefits, TANF, and military or clergy allowances
- Current bank statements and records of stocks, bonds, and other investments
- Business or farm records, if applicable; and
- Student's alien registration card if student is not a U.S. citizen.
Note: Students may apply for financial aid before being admitted to Florida State University, but while early application for aid is recommended (as soon as possible beginning October 1), a student cannot be offered aid until he/she is officially accepted for admission to Florida State University.
Loan Entrance Counseling Sessions and Master Promissory Note
Federal regulations require all students receiving a Federal Stafford Unsubsidized Loan or Graduate Plus Loan to participate in a loan entrance counseling session and endorse a master promissory note prior to receiving the first distribution of the loan. No Federal loan can be disbursed until this requirement is met.
A student accepting a loan award for the first time at Florida State University can complete the loan entrance and master promissory note requirement by accessing the Federal Department of Education Website at https://studentaid.gov/h/manage-loans and clicking on the loan entrance counseling and master promissory note links. Students will need their Federal Student Aid ID (FSA ID) to access their profile. Students can obtain an FSA ID by visiting https://studentaid.gov/fsa-id. The student will be asked to provide certain information, including reference addresses for future use. Students are strongly encouraged to print a copy of the completed confirmation page to retain for their records. The FSA ID is used to complete the e-signature. Students who prefer an alternative format or who have questions about loans, the loan entrance counseling, or master promissory note information process may contact the Office of Financial Aid.
Fees and Financial Aid Students
Financial Aid Payments & Refunds: When financial aid is processed to the student's account, the University first applies financial aid payments towards tuition and housing charges (and towards other charges as allowed) before issuing refunds. Financial aid is processed to accounts beginning with the published disbursement dates and continues through the semester. For more information and upcoming dates, visit https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/. To receive your aid, you must comply with Financial Aid terms and conditions located at https://financialaid.fsu.edu/Terms-and-Conditions. You must also confirm that your financial aid file is complete prior to disbursement by checking your status and clearing any holds or to-do list items at https://my.fsu.edu/. Financial aid refunds are sent by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) to any US-based bank account, so students must designate a refund bank account and enroll in direct deposit to receive a refund of excess Financial Aid or a refund of financial aid that cannot be applied to University charges. Additionally, the University must receive written permission to apply federal financial aid to charges other than tuition and housing and federal aid cannot be applied to excess-hours fees. For instructions on how to provide that permission, or for direct deposit enrollment instructions, see https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/.
If you have any questions, please call (850) 644-9452 at the Office of Student Business Services. For financial aid questions, please contact the Office of Financial Aid at (850) 644-0539.
Deadline: If the financial aid payment is not sufficient (or allowed) to cover all charges, or if a student's schedule, university bill, or financial aid offer changes after application of financial aid, then the student is responsible for paying the balance by the tuition payment deadline, (see the "Academic Calendar" in the Registration Guide). After this date, a $100.00 late payment fee is assessed, and grades will be held at the end of the semester until fees are paid in full.
Note: Financial Aid students who are having their tuition paid by an agency, department billing, or Florida Prepaid College Program should submit the required documents no later than the third day of the semester (see the "Academic Calendar" in the Registration Guide). The basic Florida Prepaid College Program does not pay the full amount of tuition owed to the University, nor do Intern Participation Certificates. Students must pay the remaining balance due by the posted payment due date.
Deferments, Loans, and Check Cancellation
Students must confirm their application is complete by the first week of the semester by going to https://my.fsu.edu/ and viewing their Financial Aid. Students may qualify for a deferment or extension of the tuition due date if they are awarded financial aid that is not disbursed by the published tuition deadline. Students who have been awarded aid (and in the case of loans, have accepted aid) sufficient to meet their tuition cost and who have submitted all To-Do-List items, may receive an automatic extension of the tuition deadline if their aid is not disbursed by the published deadline. Students should review their Student Account Invoice after the end of Drop/Add and before the published tuition deadline to determine if all aid has been applied, or to check to see if the tuition deadline has been extended. If tuition is still owed by the initial published deadline and aid is still pending, students should contact the Office of Financial Aid prior to the tuition payment deadline.
Financial aid students who do not receive a financial aid deferment or extension must pay their tuition in full by the tuition payment deadline. See the dates published in the "Academic Calendar" included in the Registration Guide. Failure to pay by the published deadline will result in a late payment fee assessment.
Note: Financial aid deferments expire before the end of the semester. See the Registration Guide for the expiration date. Students must confirm that their financial aid has posted, and all requirements have been met by the deferment expiration date. Go to https://my.fsu.edu/ (from Student Account Quicklinks, click Account Statement). Students will then see courses and fees detailed. With a temporary deferment, the total balance may show ($0.00) for the Current Term Tuition. When financial aid posts, the screen will show how much has been paid toward tuition. Students must ensure financial aid pays tuition in full by the deferment deadline. If the student's financial aid is not available by the expiration date, it is the student's responsibility to pay tuition in full. Failure to pay by the expiration date will result in a late payment fee assessment of $100.00, and the schedule for the semester may be cancelled. Additionally, registration will not be permitted, and transcripts and diplomas will not be mailed until debts are paid in full.
Short Term Loans
Students in need of funds as a result of financial aid being delayed may apply for a short-term loan (also known by the name delayed delivery loan) by contacting the Office of Financial Aid. Eligibility for the loan will be determined by the type of aid awarded and the hours enrolled. Accounts in delinquent status (past due) are not eligible for these loans. Short term loans will be disbursed approximately 1-2 business days after the loan has been approved and disbursed according to the disbursement method indicated on the student's disbursement permissions. Students must have either paid or deferred their full amount of tuition by the tuition payment deadline in order to be eligible for short term loans. Short term loans are due when the financial aid arrives, or by the financial aid deferment deadline, whichever comes first. Debts not paid will prohibit students from using University services such as registration, transcripts, etc.
Short term loans are not available until the financial aid distribution period. Students should come prepared to buy books and pay initial living expenses until financial aid disbursement. Students meeting the eligibility for the loan must contact the Office of Financial Aid to receive the application and submit it via the online workflow to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Students who have a documented emergency such as eviction or utility suspension may apply for an emergency loan at the Office of Financial Aid. Documentation and a picture ID are required to receive an emergency loan. Accounts in delinquent status are not eligible for an emergency loan. These loans must be paid by the due date, and University services will not be granted until paid in full. Students meeting the eligibility for the loan must contact the Office of Financial Aid to receive the application and submit it via the online workflow to email@example.com.
For emergency guidelines and requirements, contact the Office of Financial Aid.
Any Federal Direct Stafford Loan disbursed by check that remains uncashed at the check cancellation deadline will be returned to the lender for cancellation.
Loan Cancellation and Refusals
Students should notify the Office of Financial Aid to decline or refuse an awarded loan (Federal Stafford Loan, Federal PLUS for Parents or Graduate PLUs, or Private Loans) prior to it being disbursed to the student. If the loan has already been disbursed and a student wishes to partially or fully refuse a loan, the student is required to notify the Office of Financial Aid and complete a cancellation form within fourteen days.
To request a loan refusal or cancellation, complete the Loan Refusal Application at https://studentbusiness.fsu.edu/how-pay/financial-aid/loan-refusals. The Loan Refusal Application is an Adobe PDF which requires electronic signatures. Students will need to download the form to their computer in order to sign and return it; the form cannot be completed in the browser. Once completed, click "Route to Financial Aid" which will open the form in a default email client to be returned to the Office of Financial Aid. Do not attempt to change the "To" field or "Subject" line or the Office of Financial Aid may not receive your application.
If your default mail client will not send the form, send a signed copy manually to firstname.lastname@example.org with the subject line "Loan Refusal – Student." Repayment can be made to Florida State University by FSUCard, cash, cashier's check, or money order, or the original check can be brought to the Office of Student Business Services, A1500 University Center.
Loan Exit Interviews
Federal and University regulations require that all recipients of federal loans participate in an exit interview counseling session upon graduation, withdrawal from the University, or dropping below six semester hours. Counseling sessions can be completed online at https://studentaid.gov/h/manage-loans. For more information, contact the Office of Financial Aid at email@example.com or (850) 644-0539.
Additional Sources of Financial Support
Scholarships may be available from many sources, including community agencies, local and national businesses, scholarship organizations and professional associations. Donations to FSU to establish scholarships for FSU students may be applied for through the FSU Foundation. These scholarship opportunities can be found on the FSU Scholarship Foundation website known as FS4U, at https://fsu.academicworks.com/.
It is the student's responsibility to report all additional sources of financial aid via "Outside Aid" located at https://my.fsu.edu/ within the Financial Aid student portal. By federal and state regulation, we must include scholarship resources when awarding other aid. Late scholarship awards may require review of an existing award, and in some cases, adjustments to aid already disbursed.
The Federal Work Study Program (FWSP)
The FWSP is a federally funded, need-based financial aid program, administered by the Office of Financial Aid. This program enables students to earn a portion of their financial aid offer through student employment. This program offers a positive alternative to loan indebtedness through meaningful part-time employment. Weekly work schedules are mutually determined by the student and the employing department to suit the student's class/exam schedule and the employer's needs. According to federal regulations, the work schedule cannot interfere with a student's class schedule.
Students may also utilize their Federal Work Study offers by participating in community service through the Community Service Work Study Program (CSWSP). This program is designed to locate and develop off-campus community service jobs and offer referrals for eligible students. Students may assist with programs related to health care, childcare, literacy training, education (including tutoring), welfare, and social services. Some students may serve as mentors for educational and recreational activities or work as counselors in areas such as career counseling.
To determine eligibility for the FWSP and CSWSP, students must apply for financial aid at Florida State University by completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA), and by submitting all other required documentation.
There are a variety of fellowships offered through the University when funds are available. Some require duties and some do not. Students should check with their graduate department for awards available in their discipline or visit https://gradschool.fsu.edu/ and https://fsu.academicworks.com/
- The Graduate School Legacy Fellowship. For newly admitted doctoral and MFA students in certain fields. The fellowship is awarded as a $10,000 supplement to departmental/college assistantship offers. It is a multi-year award and includes tuition waivers and the health subsidy benefit.
- Henderson Family Fellowship. This fellowship supports Florida public school teachers who are pursuing a master's or specialist degree. This fellowship defrays the costs of tuition and fees for up to two semesters in an academic year (Summer, Fall, Spring).
- McKnight Doctoral Fellowship Program. This is a state-wide program administered through the Florida Education Fund (FEF) designed to address the under-representation of African American and Hispanic faculty at colleges and universities in the State of Florida by increasing the pool of scholars with doctoral degrees. The McKnight Doctoral Fellowship provides an annual stipend of $12,000 plus in-state tuition and fees up to five years for newly admitted and selected African American and Hispanic graduate students who intend to seek a PhD degree. This award may supplement an award from an academic unit (research and teaching assistantships).
- McNair Scholars Fellowship. The McNair Scholars program is a federally-funded program that prepares first generation or underrepresented undergraduate students for doctoral studies. This fellowship is for newly-admitted doctoral or MFA students who completed the McNair Scholars program at a federally recognized institution. This fellowship provides a fellowship stipend between $16,000 and $20,000 annually and includes tuition waivers and the health insurance subsidy.
- FAMU Feeder Fellowship. This fellowship is for students that graduated from Florida A&M University and completed the FAMU Feeder program. Awards will be given for a maximum of four years for doctoral degree-seeking students, and two years for master's degree-seeking students. The award will have a non-duty stipend of $8,000 for each of the Fall and Spring semesters, no Summer funding will be provided. The Graduate School will also provide up to a twelve-credit hour tuition waiver for each of the Fall and Spring semesters along with the annual health insurance subsidy. The award may supplement an award by the academic unit or other entity if allowed.
- Dissertation Research Grants. The Dissertation Research Grant is an award up to $1,000 paid by the Graduate School to assist doctoral students with expenses associated with research necessary to prepare dissertations.
- National Institutes of Health Training Grant Fellowship. This fellowship supports newly admitted and senior doctoral students studying in the disciplines of Clinical Neurosciences or Chemical Senses. This fellowship is appointed in two year cycles and provides a stipend of $25,320 annually and includes tuition waiver and a $4,400 training-related expense budget. US Citizenship is a requirement.
External Fellowships and Awards
The Office of Graduate Fellowships and Awards operates under the auspices of The Graduate School. The office assists currently enrolled graduate students in identifying and applying for nationally competitive fellowships and awards from external sponsors. Graduate students receive advice and guidance on preparing and submitting competitive applications materials and proposals. For more information, visit the office's website at https://ogfa.fsu.edu/.
Graduate students appointed as graduate assistants are selected by academic departments for duties connected with instruction, research, or professional activities of mutual benefit to the University and the student. Such students must be appointed in one of the following codes to be recognized as a graduate assistant: M9182, M9183, M9184, N9185, W9185, Z9185. Only students with regular graduate student status are eligible for appointment on a graduate assistantship. Special and provisional students are ineligible.
Application for a graduate assistantship should be made to the chair of the major department. The stipend varies depending on the amount of service rendered, the nature of the service, and the qualifications of the student.
Graduate assistants may be eligible for a waiver of the out-of-state tuition and matriculation fees. Refer to the previous section on "Tuition Waivers, Deferments, and Financial Arrangements" for details.
A new student whose application for an assistantship is under consideration must also complete an application for admission through the Office of Admissions in the usual manner.
To remain eligible for an assistantship, a student must discharge the assigned duties satisfactorily as determined by the director of the program. A graduate student with less than a 3.0 cumulative grade point average is not allowed to continue more than one term as a graduate assistant.
The Leslie N. Wilson-Delores Auzenne Assistantship is available for all new or currently enrolled graduate students. Preference may be given to applicants who are historically underrepresented.
Nomination is through the department or college, but competition for these awards is on a University-wide basis. The stipend is a minimum of $5,000 per academic year plus tuition waivers. Assistants are also eligible to receive the health insurance subsidy benefit.