Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Degrees of Distinction

Degrees of Distinction

Three degrees of distinction are granted to undergraduate students only, based on all college-level work attempted (excluding physical education activity and vocational courses), and including the term's work in which baccalaureate degree requirements are completed.

Degree of distinction may vary once a final check is complete.

  • Cum Laude for an overall average of 3.500;
  • Magna Cum Laude for an overall average of 3.700; and
  • Summa Cum Laude for an overall average of 3.900.

Degrees with distinction are granted to transfer students who meet all three of the following requirements:

  • The students must complete at least forty letter-graded hours of work, including the final term's work, at Florida State.
  • The student must have a 3.5 or higher average on all work taken at this university.
  • The student must have the required overall average on all work attempted, including any transfer credit excluding any physical education activity courses or vocational courses, regardless of how many years have elapsed since the credit was earned. Transfer credit cannot raise a student's Florida State University GPA. Therefore, if the transfer GPA is higher that the Florida State GPA, the level of distinction will be based on the Florida State GPA.

    NOTE: In essence, both GPAs need to be at the distinction level to be awarded. Here are some examples of how this policy works.

 Cumulative GPA  Combined Cumulative GPA  Distinction 
 3.5  4.0  Receive CUM LAUDE 
 4.0  3.7  Receive MAGNA CUM LAUDE 
 4.0  3.9  Receive SUMMA CUM LAUDE 
 4.0  3.0  No Distinction